Helensburgh Bowling Club held its Annual General Meeting on Thursday, February 11 at 7.40pm.

The meeting elected the new President for 2017, Mr Eric Wallace with Ms Liz Smith moving to the Immediate Past President office as well as the other office Bearers for the year.

John Stead was reappointed as the Treasurer, Patricia McCallan was elected as the new Ladies Captain with Steve Hoyles being elected as the new Gents Captain and Jim McBride was reappointed as the club Secretary.

The Directors who continued in office from 2016 were: Walter Jamieson, Roger Jones, Jenny Jones, Liz Fraser, Steve Hoyles, Cathy Crossan and Irene Wallace. The new Directors elected for the year was Marion McClenaghan, Hugh Murray, Susan Claisse, Ed Claisse and Charles Ward which gave the committee its full compliment for the year.

Immediate Past President Mr George Tait retired by rotation.

President Eric Wallace will carry out the Opening of the Greens on Saturday 16th April and this will be followed on Saturday, April 23 with an Open” Try Bowls” day at the club.

Anyone interested in trying the game will be made very welcome between 11am and 3 pm.