The first record by common consent of all concerned related to the magnificent condition of the golf course. The combination of an exceptional spell of super weather coupled with the skills of Robert Bacon, the head greenkeeper, and his staff, combined to create playing conditions without equal.

In the gents final gentlemanly and mild mannered Peter Haggarty, who has been proud to represent the club as gents champion over the years, matched the existing record held by Colin Dalgleish for eight championship wins when he took the title for the eighth time, beating Allister Parlane by three and two, despite having been four down after seven holes, in the 36 hole final.

In the ladies final, Lynn McCathie whose photograph as lady champion had graced the members lounge on no fewer than 21 occasions in the past, faced the talented and youthful challenge of Gemma Canham appearing in her first final. Gemma, a nurse by profession, had been prevented by illness from playing any competitive golf last year but she got off to the perfect start to take the first two holes and Lynn was never able to edge ahead in an absorbing final, finally handing over her title, for the time being at least, on the 17th green, despite a threatened recovery with an excellent hole winning par on the 16th.

In the 36th hole, Junior Boys Championship final, cousins Jack Armstrong and Andrew Graham did battle for the title with Jack emerging as clear winner with a margin of six and four.

In the Peel Trophy final, Alec Dunlop made his third appearance over the years. His opponent was match and handicap secretary Don Griffin who has enjoyed an excellent run of good form during the summer months.

Alec, however, drew on his past experience to produce a consistent performance, ultimately winning the title by two holes. In the 1963 Trophy final Steven Walker defeated Alan Armstrong by two in one. The Ladies Bronze Championship final between Viv Peck and Maria Carling took an extra hole to decide with Viv taking the title on the 19th green.

The girls final brought sisters Zoe and Sarah Kemp to the first tee with Zoe defeating her sister by seven and six. In the August qualifier for the Breingan Medal 101 competitors teed up. The scratchless score was increased by one stroke, to 70.

Leading scores: First Class: 65: Alan Bell (10), 66: Alan Scott (5), 67: David Gordon (9), 69: Neil Thomson (6), Phillip English (10), Dominic Taylor (6), Graham Reid (11), Allister Parlane (2), 70: Ian Irving (9), 71: James McKechnie (7), Graham Crowhurst (9). Second Class: 69: Bill Lawler (15), Alan Walker (17), 72: John Fugler (13), 73: Mel Newton (19), Ron McKay (13), David M Kennedy (19). Third Class: 69: Donald Nicolson (24), 73: Ross Turnbull (23), 96: Tony Morris (22), 99: Andrew Dunwoodie (25), In the Ladies RNLI Hidden Holes Competition, newly crowned ladies champion Gemma Canham took the honours with a net 70 followed by Margo Lamb (29) with a 72 and Linda Moffat (11) in third place with a net 73.