Bill McKeirnan (24) and Graham Crowhurst (10) took joint honours with equal scores of 23 points. Bob Berry (17) came third with 21 points.

Sunday was the final day of the club’s Winter League. Three pairs scored 42 points and once again previous winners were in contention for first place. New members, John Clink (11) and Bill MacDonald (11), last week’s winners, came second with the best back six holes but Iain Bennett (14) and Mark Fairley (12) had the better inward half to emerge as final week champions. Congratulations to them both.

Peter Haggerty and Alan Scott, also with 42 points, are previous winners of first, second and third places and so were relegated to fourth place in the prizes. This allowed Kevin Robb and Andy Donald with 41 points to be promoted to third place.

The club extends its congratulations, to Tom Griffiths’ team five who, with a clear margin of 54 points and a grand total of 1171, is this year’s Winter League team winners.

In second place with 1117 points is Don Griffin’s team two and in third place with 1110 points, Alan Latham’s team one.

Many thanks are due to Ivor Jones, Winter League organiser and also to the back room boys Alan Latham, Angus Macdonald and Crawford Howatt who each week collate the individual and team scores.

Enormous credit is also due to Robert Bacon and his staff who have provided such marvellous course conditions, particularly the greens.

Next Saturday, Fraser Hall will be offering a four ball better ball, 11 hole Stableford. Sunday will be the first week of David Hogg’s Frostbite, an individual competition running until the end of February 2015.

Last Sunday was also the final week of the Junior Winter League organised by Phil Armstrong, Junior Convenor. This is an individual 11 hole competition run over the same seven weeks as the Winter League. The best five weeks’ scores count towards each player’s final total.

Twenty boys and girls took part with Douglas Willoughby (5) returning a final winning score of 103 points. Jack Armstrong (11) came second with 99 points and Ryan Clelland (4) third with 96 points. The leading girl was Sarah Kemp (15) with 89 points.

Many thanks to retiring convenor Phil Armstrong for the dedication he has shown over the past few years, encouraging our younger players. Phil will be succeeded by Andy Donald to whom we offer our best wishes.