Sunday 14th August was Helensburgh Golf Club’s Championship Finals Day. Weather was mercifully dry and it was particularly encouraging for the participants to see such a large gallery of Club members in support.

In Division 1, the final of the Hood Trophy is played over 2 rounds. At the end of round 1, Peter Haggarty had amassed a considerable lead, 8 holes ahead of his fellow finalist, Douglas Willoughby.

The situation, unfortunately for Douglas, didn’t improve much in round two, with Peter closing the match at the 11th, nine holes ahead, to emerge Club Champion for the ninth time.

In Division 2, the Peel Trophy went to the wire with Filippo James Madonia securing victory on the 18th green, 1 up against Darren Pearce.

The 1963 Trophy, Division 3, was similarly a contest of nip and tuck.

Eventually, at the 17th, Thomas Darroch came out on top against Stephen Ford, two ahead with one left to play.

Winner of this year’s Junior Boys Championship is Ryan Cleland, who was victorious against Shey Donald, 4 and 3.

The Ladies play three qualifying rounds during May, June and July for the Ladies Championship and Ladies Bronze Championship.

he best eight from each division then play knockout matches during July and early August leaving two in each division to go through to the Championship finals.

The Ladies Championship saw Lynn McCathie going for her 23rd title against her younger, long hitting opponent Gemma Canham.

Lynn and Gemma both played excellent golf with Gemma putting from close for birdie 2s on all the 3 par threes played, Lynn responding with some great shots.

The match was eventually won by Gemma whose length told at the difficult 15th.

In the ladies Bronze Championship last year's competing pair again contested the final.

Zoe Kemp, whose handicap has steadily reduced this year putted like a pro which proved, in the end, the defining factor in her retaining her championship against a resilient Maria Carling.

Well done to all the ladies. A great afternoon played in great sporting spirit.

The August round of the Anderson Cup had 73 entrants on Saturday 13th. Results were:

Division 1: Graham Crowhurst[11] had best nett Medal score with 64. Terry Smith[3] nett 67 and Fraser McCathie[9] nett 68.

Division 2: Ian Bennet[13] nett 70. Eight players all scored nett 72: Ron McKay[14], Liam Hanson[16], Alan Rankin[15], Dougie Singleton[14], Ian Porter[16], Jon Simmons[18], Andy Bennett[15] and Bob Berry[17].

Division 3: Craig Ross Smith[28] and Nicolay Petkov[23] both nett 66. Stephen Ford[23] and Mick Taheny[22] both nett 74. Malcolm Hyatt[27] nett 75.

Qualifiers for the Anderson Cup Final on September 10th are Graham Crowhurst, Ron McKay and Craig Ross Smith.