SNP candidate Brendan O Hara has been elected as the new MP for Argyll and Bute .

The announcement was made in the early hours of this morning and the Advertiser team were there to grab all the action.

The turnout for Argyll and Bute at the polls was 75.41% while 51, 939 votes were cast.

The Scottish National Party claimed a landslide victory in Scotland after securing an unprecedented number of MPs at Westminster.

Meanwhile, the nationalists, who won just six seats in 2010, soared beyond 50 seats as Labour's support north of the border collapsed.

Scottish Labour leader Jim Murphy and shadow foreign secretary Douglas Alexander were among those to lose their seats.