The SNP's Brendan O'Hara has retained his Westminster seat in the Argyll and Bute constituency.

Mr O'Hara, who was elected for his first term as part of a Nationalist landslide in the 2015 general election, won with 17,304 votes.

However, he recorded an 8.3 per cent drop from the 2015 results, with a swing towards the Conservative candidate Gary Mulvaney, who trailed by 1,328 votes.

This marked an 18.3 per cent boost in the region for the Tories.

Lib Dem Alan Reid, who lost his parliamentary seat in 2015, won 8,745 votes, a further drop in percentage terms of 9.7, whilst Labour candidate Michael Kelly recorded 6,044 votes, an increase of 2.2 per cent on the last election.

In relation to the share of the vote, the SNP had 36 per cent, Conservatives 33.2 per cent, Lib Dems 18.2 per cent, and Labour 12.6 per cent.

The electorate turnout was 71.6 per cent and the total electorate was 67,230. 

There were 69 rejected papers and the total votes cast was 48,138.

The count in Lochgilphead started just before 10.30pm and the result was announced at around 4am.