FIFTEEN years on from this momentous achievement for Ardencaple under-14s, we take a look back at some of the young stars who featured in the formidable line-up.

How many faces can you recognise from the first team of 2004?


THE proud youngsters of Ardencaple under 14’s won the first league title for many a year on the last day of the season in dramatic fashion against Tullichewan at East King Street.

This followed on from the heartbreak of losing the title on the last day of last season to go one better this year.

Caple were coasting at 3-0 through two Porter-Smith goals and the opener from McGregor but the boys put the large crowd through every emotion by letting the away team back into contention by conceding two late goals but they did more than enough to hold on and win not only the match but the crown.

They also got to the league cup final only to lose out to the odd goal of seven and in fact have received the perfect accolade of winning the prestigious team of the year award, an amazing feat for a team so young.

Ardencaple Chairman, John McGinley said: “This was a game the boys had to win and it was a fantastic achievement to win the league, especially after coming so close last year. The lads showed great team spirit.”

Team: Scott Reynolds, Roddie Cunningham, Jamie Henry, Colin Stevenson, Stevie Forrester, Gordon McGregor, Alan Birnie, Alistair Speedie, Cammy Bone, Jack Porter-Smith, Kevin Murray, Stuart Sharkey, Jamie Muir, Gregor Wilson, Ally Fagan.