VOTERS in Helensburgh and Lomond will have a choice of no fewer than seven candidates in next month's Scottish Parliament election.

The names of the candidates standing in the Dumbarton constituency were confirmed shortly after 5pm on Wednesday, just over an hour after nominations closed.

The seven candidates, in alphabetical order by surname, are as follows:

Jackie Baillie - Scottish Labour Party

Maurice Corry - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Andy Foxall - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Toni Giugliano - Scottish National Party (SNP)

James Morrison - Independent

Andrew Joseph Muir - Independent

Jonathan Rainey - Scottish Libertarian Party

Polling stations across the constituency will be open from 7am until 10pm on Thursday, May 6.

The deadline for registering to vote in the election is midnight on Monday, April 19, but the deadline to apply for a postal vote or a proxy vote is Tuesday, April 6.