A HELENSBURGH teenager has been announced as one of three people representing Argyll and Bute to be elected as new members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYP).

Chloe Meikle, 18, takes on the role from predecessor Rosie Sumsion and joins 16-year-old Ryan MacIntyre, a prefect at Dunoon Grammar, and 15-year-old Rothesay Academy pupil Baileigh McIntyre, from Bute at the new SYP following successful campaigns.

Chloe is an active member of the Helensburgh and Lomond Youth Forum and is passionate about young people’s rights, having young people’s voices heard and is a COP26 Local Champion for Argyll and Bute.

Established on June 30, 1999 – making it just one day older than the Scottish Parliament - the SYP is the democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people and elections are held every two years.

MSYPs range in age from 14 to 25, and represent constituencies in all 32 local authorities throughout the country, and several national voluntary organisations.

Announcing the results for the constituency, David Kinniburgh, provost of Argyll and Bute Council and Andrew Nisbet, chair of liveArgyll, said: "Congratulations to Ryan, Baileigh and Chloe on their election.

"Entirely youth led and diverse, the Scottish Youth Parliament provides a national platform for young people to discuss the issues that are important to them, and campaign to effect the change they wish to see; developing young people to be the leaders of tomorrow through training and international opportunities, encouraging young people in decision making, supporting youth action and developing essential life skills for leadership.

"It is a true model of youth participation and a key aspect of democracy in Scotland.

"Youth participation forms the foundation blocks and routes for young people at every level to lead change locally, regionally, nationally and globally.

"Our thanks also go to the hard work of our community learning staff in facilitating the voting process across the authority and who will provide ongoing support to our three MSYPs over the next two years as they serve their election term."