The sun was out at Ardencaple last weekend for Helensburgh Rugby Club’s mini section fun day and prize giving.

A great turnout of players from the P1-P7 teams had a fantastic morning of fun games organised by the coaches, before the prizes were handed out at the season ending event, by William Harrison, a local boy who - as reported in the Advertiser earlier this year - has made it through to play for the FOSROC Glasgow and the West Region at U16 level.

It was also an opportunity to make the presentation of the club’s Gareth Hoskins Award to the players who missed out on their own presentation over the last two seasons, when the prize giving was cancelled due to Covid restrictions - Adam Reaney for 2019-20 and Ryan Sanderson for 2020-21, as well as this season’s winner Lewis Eales.

The prize winners for this season were as follows: P4 most improved Benion Bainitabua, player of the year Mason Doyle; P5 most improved Tom Stuart, player of the year Arthur Coëffé; P6 outstanding sportsmanship Adam Bone, most improved Jamie Grayson, player of the year Donnie MacLean; P7 most improved William Mathis, player of the year Rory McClearn.

Gareth Hoskins Award winners: 2019-20 Adam Reaney, 2020-21 Ryan Sanderson, 2021-22 Lewis Eales.