TWELVE bold and heroic members of Helensburgh Bowling Club braved the horrendous weather on Wednesday July 14 for the club's annual Cancer Research Wappenschaw's.

The ladies Wappenschaw in the afternoon was cancelled due to weather conditions, however the mixed Wappenschaw was played as usual in the evening when President Walter Jamieson welcomed members of the club to the annual event.

The men, as well as the ladies, joined in the pink dress format, and some even suited it.

The players took to the greens and played nine ends, even although the rain was very heavy and incessant.

The winning triple were George Tait, Claire Macindoe and Iain Macleod (skip) who were presented with their prizes by president Jamieson.

All the players, despite being soaked through, enjoyed an excellent fun night of bowls, which contributes to a very worthy and deserving cause.

President Jamieson welcomed Sharon Sheridan, the area volunteer manager from Cancer Research UK, and presented her with a cheque for £240, which included the proceeds from the Cancer Research Bottle, donations from members, at both Wappenschaw's.

Sharon thanked the members for their generous donation, saying that the Cancer Research UK rely solely on donations like this to fund their vital research.

The president thanked Sharon for taking the time to travel from Falkirk in such conditions and the members for their generosity and attendance.

And on Thursday July 15 the annual game between past presidents/directors and members for the John Malcolm Memorial trophy took place.

An excellent number of players, three rinks and two triples, played in the game, where the members tried their very best to get the better of the 'white collar brigade' of the club over 13 ends.

Although played in good humour both sides are always anxious to win the trophy.

The members, who last won the trophy in 2001, were particularly keen to win this year.

But the members will have to wait another year to break their losing run as the past presidents/directors, led by the club president, were the victors by the narrow margin of 69 shots to 58.

The highest up rink in the past presidents/directors team were, Annette Garrick, Cathy Crossan, John Stead and Hugh Murray (skip) 12 shots up.

The best rink in the members team were Jill Dacombe, Cassandra McKerron, Martin Air and Stephen Hepton (skip) who were 11 shots up.

After the game, the president presented the prizes to the winning rink and Allan Howie presented the John Malcom trophy to the president.

All the players then enjoyed a buffet supper prepared by the ladies committee.

President Jamieson thanked the match committee and the ladies for organising what was a very enjoyable and successful evening.