Club president George Tait introduced club lady captain, Liz Smith, who welcomed members and guests, including Ginty Struth of the WoSWBA, Margaret Smith from the DWBA, and Ray Nichols of the GWBA and representatives from 10 kindred clubs within, and outwith, the area, to the opening day.

Liz presented club badges to new members Marion McClenaghan and Irene Wallace, while president George Tait presented 2013 club champion Claire Macindoe, the youngest lady champion in the history of the club, with her championship medal, before inviting the lady captain to open the greens.

The lady captain Liz delivered the first jack and two bowls, one on each hand before declaring the greens open for 2014 and wishing the ladies an enjoyable year in 2014.

Playing in the sun, the ladies enjoyed a game of eight ends of bowls, won by Liz Fraser, Claire Macindoe, May MacKenzie and Doreen Gillies, the runners-up were Mary Robertson, Veronica Butler-Hoskins, Patricia McCallan and Susan Hunter.

After an enjoyable meal in the clubhouse the lady captain Liz presented the trophy and prizes to the winner of the ladies winter carpet bowls, Cathy Boyle, and the runner-up in the competition, Margaret Rice. Colgrain Bowling Club opened their green on Saturday, April 12, for the 63rd successive year.

A big crowd was welcomed by president Scot Moorhouse before the first bowl was thrown by Moira Tough who declared the green open for the 2014 season.

Members and guests played nine ends, followed by a meal in the club house and a disco in the evening.