HELENSBURGH Bowling Club held its annual presentation of prizes and dinner dance on Saturday, October 24.

President Liz Smith paid tribute to the members’ achievements during the year.

She said: “Our ladies had a most successful year. In the Dumbartonshire Women’s Bowling Association Margaret Hogg and Jill Dacombe won the Ladies 2 Bowl Pairs. In the GWBA we had a great success with Annette Christie winning the Champions of Champions with Marion McClenaghan adding the ladies Singles Trophy and our Senior A team were runners-up in the Senior League.

“In the Dumbartonshire Bowling Association competitions our team of Nick Cudby, Walter Jamieson, Iain Macleod and Joe Cameron won the prestigious Inter County Cup, played for between the Dumbartonhire and Renfrewshire Associations annually.

“This was the first time in the clubs’ history that we have won the trophy an exceptional achievement.

“Our gents also had another exceptional year in the GBA with Andrew Sneddon winning the Champion of Champions. In the team competitions we won the Cup, League, Shield League, Mixed League and our Senior A Team were runners-up in the Senior League and to add to this our team won the 3-2-1 competition.

“Add to this our success in winning the Clyde Trophy League, it was an exceptional year overall.” The full list of prize winners was as follows: Junior Section Colin McIntosh Championship Trophy: Winner Alan Air, Runner-up Claire Dennett.

Ladies Section Elizabeth Hamilton Quaich two Bowl Pairs: Winners Marion McClenaghan and Jill Dacombe, Runners-up Muriel Galt and Wilma Hanna.

Nominated 4 Bowl Pairs: Winners Annette Christie and Elizabeth Fraser Runners-up Irene Wallace and Susan Claisse.

Patricia Robertson Memorial Trophy: Balloted Pairs: Winners Veronica Bell BEM and Patricia McCallan, Runners-Up, Rona Jay and Jill Dacombe.

Anna Gall Trophy Ladies points: Winner Susan Claisse, Joint Runners-up: Margaret Grant and Helen Lawrie.

A. F. Forbes Captains Trophy: Winner Susan Claisse, Runner-up, Barbara Robertson.

Muirhead Trophy Presidents Trophy: Winner Annette Christie Runner-up, Jill Dacombe.

Ferguson Trophy Senior Championship: Winner Annette Christie Runner-up: Jill Dacombe. A. Dunlop Trophy Ladies Championship: Winner Claire Dennett Runner-up, Jill Dacombe.

Ptarmigan Trophy Competitors of the Year: Lady Winner Susan Claisse Gents Winner Eric Wallace Gents Section Farquhar Cup Gents Triples: Winners Allan Crawford, Allan Howie and Bobby White, Runners-up, Tom Fleming, Ed Claisse and Roger Jones.

McConachie Cup Senior Pairs: Winners Iain Macleod and George Sneddon, Runners-up, Tom Adkin and Bobby White.

Matthew Dickie Gents Pairs: Winners, George Sneddon and Keith Tait Runners-up, Craig Stirling and Joe Cameron.

Agnes and Fred Howie Memorial Mixed Pairs: Winners Elizabeth Fraser and Ian MacDonald Runners-up, Jill Dacombe and Allan Howie.

Exorna Trophy Mixed Singles: Winner Marion McClenaghan, Runner-up, Martin Air.

Thomson Cup Gents points: Winner David Ratley Runner-up, Tom Fleming.

Gordon Stewart Trophy Sets Competition: Winner Keith Tait, Runner-up, Alan Air.

McIntyre Cup Two Bowl Singles: Winner Alasdair Cameron Runner-up, Joe Cameron.

Muirhead Handicap Trophy: Winner George Sneddon, Runner-up Alisdair Cameron.

Alston Captains Trophy: Winner Robert Begg, Runner-up, Eric Wallace.

J. Orr Ewing Presidents Trophy: Winner George Sneddon, Runner-up, Ian MacDonald.

Douglas Bowl Senior Championship: Winner Bill Reaney, Runner-up, Nick Cudby.

Coronation Trophy Gents Championship Trophy: Winner Andrew Sneddon Runner-up, Keith Tait.