Wilma Hannah and Alan Air have been crowned the ladies' and gents' singles champions of 2016 at Helensburgh Bowling Club.

The ladies' championship final saw Wilma race into the lead against Muriel Galt in a battle of two previous winners of the trophy.

Muriel, however, fought back from 13-3 down, scoring nine shots in the course of four ends to close the gap to 13-12, only for Wilma to regain the upper hand, scoring eight shots without reply over the four ends that followed to win her seventh championship title by a 21-12 margin.

The gents' championship final saw Alan, a four-times winner in the past, up against Nick Cudby, who was appearing in his first championship final.

Nick, though, was unfazed by his opponents' previous successes, and after seven ends the score stood level at four shots apiece.

Alan then seized the initiative to lead 10-4 after 11 ends, but Nick soon narrowed the gap to two shots, and by the 19th end the first-time finalist had turned the game around to lead 15-14.

Alan, however, fought back to level the game at 16-16 after 21 ends, before adding the crucial five shots he needed to secure the title.

In the ladies' senior championship final, Susan Claisse, a relative newcomer to the game, showed great skill to defeat Jill Dacombe, last year's winner, 21-8, while Gordon Stephen MBE secured the gents' senior championship prize in his first year in the competition, beating Iain Macleod 21-18 after a great game of bowls between two excellent players.

The gents' Muirhead Handicap final saw George Sneddon beat Bill Reaney 21-16, while the gents' president's final was won by Keith Tait, who defeated Hugh Murray 21-9.

The following day, Muriel Galt put her ladies' championship final loss behind her to beat Jill Dacombe 21-16 in the ladies' President's final, before Alan Air added to his weekend of success by beating Luke Healy 21-12 in the gents' McIntyre two-bowl final.

The ladies' nominated pairs final was won by Annette Christie and Liz Fraser, who retained the trophy with a 21-10 win over Barbara Robertson and Patricia McCallan, while the Exorna Mixed Singles Trophy final saw Gary Mackie defeat Roger Jones 21-12.