RONALD HOLMES lifted the Heron Cup in Helensburgh Golf Club's annual over-55 gents' open tournament.

His winning round of 44 points featured two birdies and seven pars and gave him a six-point margin of victory over Alex Miller of Ralston Golf Club and Holmes' Helensburgh clubmate Graham Crowhurst, who both scored 38 points.

The tournament, sponsored by the Ruby Restaurant, was played on September 20, having been postponed from August because of poor weather.

Again, rain played its part in the afternoon, giving those players who went out early some advantage.

* Ian Bennett lifted the John Scott Trophy at Helensburgh Golf Club after a tense finale to the stableford competition.

The 61 players were whittled down to four leading players who all finished on 39 points.

After a countback, Bennett (14), with one birdie and eight pars, emerged victorious over Alan Rankin (14), Gordon McGregor (5) and Stuart Buchanan (11).

* Saturday, September 16 saw the last round and final of the Anderson Cup, sponsored by CMC Electrical.

Graeme Proud won division one, going out in 36 and coming back in 35 with one birdie and 14 pars, beating Peter Haggarty by three shots.

Alan Blackstock won division two, going out in 44 and coming back in 37 with 10 pars, beating Gordon English in a card play-off.

Dougie Mitchell won division three, going out in 42 and coming back in 50 with one birdie and three pars, beating Michael White by one shot.

Graeme Proud, with a net score of 67, emerged in the final as this year’s Anderson Cup winner.

Runner-up was Robert Campbell on a net 68.

* The final of HGC’s mid-week Ormond Medal, sponsored by Raeburn Hope, was also played recently.

Graeme Proud won division one, going out in 35 and coming back in 36 with one birdie and 14 pars, beating Andrew Donald in a card play-off.

David Reid won division two, going out in 39 and coming back in 38 with two birdies and six pars, beating Alan Bell by one shot.

Dougie Mitchell won division three, going out in 49 and coming back in 45 with five pars, beating Donald Nicolson by one shot.

This year’s Ormond Medal winner, with a net 67, was Andrew Donald. Billy Trail, with net 69, was runner-up.

* Jon Simmons and Scott Kennedy, both with 34 points, are this year’s winners of HGC’s weekly Eclectic Competition.

They were closely followed by Paul Duerden, Alan Walker, Ray Smith and Graeme Proud, all with 33 points.

* At the end of the season, HGC’s McIntyre Seniors came third in the league table. Hayston GC finished top of the league.