THREE Helensburgh players comprised the winning team in the club’s ladies’ tri-am tournament last week.

A total of 114 ladies – 22 of them from other clubs – lined up in 38 teams for the tournament on Wednesday, July 25, played on a beautiful, warm and sunny day.

The competition was played to a stableford format with two scores counting at each hole, and an excellent total of 89 points was enough to ensure victory for the Helensburgh trio of Fiona Chalmers, Carol Bews and Jackie Lightfoot.

Second place went to Maria Carling and Angie Macfarlane of Helensburgh and their team-mate Lesley Wilkie, from Milngavie, who amassed 86 points.

Other prizes on the day went to Hilton Park in Cardross.

The prizes were presented by Sue Montgomery from Ardardan Estate, which sponsored the event for a fourth year.

Meanwhile, Ian Porter won the men’s division one prize in the annual Captain’s Day stableford competition at Helensburgh on Saturday.

His total of 38 points was enough to beat Douglas Willoughby in a card play-off.

Alastair Cairns’ 43 points took the division two honours, though he, too, required a card play-off to beat Richard G. Howard to top spot.

Michael Stephen was top in division three with 41 points, two ahead of runner-up Brian Penman.

Claire Harper won the ladies’ section with 40 points after a round including nine pars, beating Angie Macfarlane to the prize by a three-point margin. Anne Barty finished third on 36.

Forty-four Helensburgh ladies and gents took part in the club’s Walker Trophy competition on Friday following the post-match buffet, the trophy was, somewhat reluctantly, presented to the gents – again – by lady captain Bobbie Latham.

J. Barton was this week’s winner of the Tuesday Eclectic with 26 points, followed by J. Ford with 25.

There were two ‘twos’ winners this week – J. McKenzie and A. Willoughby, with both coming at the ninth hole.

Ray Smith now joins Scott Kennedy and Stuart Buchanan at the top of the overall Eclectic leaderboard with 33 points.

Five players – Calum Kennedy, Kenny Loch, Chris Stewart, Graeme Proud and Dave Lutwyche – lead the chasing pack on 32 points.

Finally, Helensburgh’s McIntyre Seniors League team beat Cardross 3-1 on July 26.