LORRAINE CAMPBELL defeated Lori MacDonald to win the ladies’ championship title at Cardross Golf Club.

It was a closely contested final, with Lorraine only prevailing on the 18th green as a play-off loomed.

Rae Strang defeated Diana MacIntosh, in another close match, to win the bronze championship, and the Bell Trophy, for the fourth year running.

The matches were well supported by the members of the club’s ladies’ section, and refreshments were served in the clubhouse after the presentation of the trophies.

And that wasn’t the end of the action on the Cardross course: or the first time, the finals of the gents’ fourball and twoball competitions were played on the same day.

Stephen Mooney and John Aitken were the winners of the fourball final, played against Iain Campbell and Alan Stewart, while the twoball final was won by David and Alistair Stewart, with Allan Crawford and David Jenkins forced to settle for the runner-up slot.