Helensburgh AAC’s junior section had their annual prize giving following the club championship decider event at On-X in Linwood.

Around 70 juniors took part each completing a sprint, a middle-distance run, one throw and one jump event of their choice with points being awarded for the distances and time achieved to determine the champions in each age group. The performances at the championship decider were then combined with points for competing in competitions throughout the year, to determine the overall champions who received the championship trophies.

At the beginning of the prize giving it was announced that the cub had been promoted in the Central and Southern Scotland League.

This is the main summer track and field league and after a number of years being very close to promotion, the breadth and depth of coverage of the events and age groups allowed the club to successfully achieve promotion.

READ MORE: Young Helensburgh team sets the pace at Emirates Arena indoor match

The Turnbull Shield for the U11 girls was won by Emily Ferguson, with Lottie Horrocks second and Libby Maclean third, while the Jean Wragg Shield for U11 boys went to Lewis Cameron, with Kerr Tokeley second and James Brimson third, with Archie White joint third with James on the day at the championship decider competition.

The U13 girls’ title was closely fought between Holly Kenhard and Eloise Dunn, with Eloise first at the championship decider, but Holly scoring more points over the season, so Holly was awarded the Ardencaple Cup, with Eloise second and Catriona McAllister third.

In the U13 boys event Matthew Gall retained the Ardencaple Cup which he had won in 2018, with Alex Brown second and Harris Maclean third, with Ruiridh Mair joint third with Harris on the day at the decider event.

Lexy Kenhard and Robert Court also retained their U15 Esso Shields from the year before, with Maddie Rooney second and Eva Rooney third in the girls’ event.

William Scott was second overall in the boys’ event, with Calum Poirier third, while Daniel Logan was second at the decider event.

Jenny Scott topped the leader board in the U17 girls’ championship with Amy Court second and Amirah Hassan third, with Oliver Greetham also taking home an Esso Shield as the U17 boys’ champion.

Further trophies and shields were presented for individual event awards which recognise the most outstanding performance over the season as selected by the coaches.

Ewan McCartney won the Sloan Trophy, awarded for the best thrower, for his performance in javelin and shot putt, while Lexy Kenhard won the Stevenson Shield for the best performance in a jumps event for her excellent performances in both long and high jump throughout the season, including a bronze medal in the high jump at the West District Championship.

READ MORE: Helensburgh youngsters start their winter cross-country campaign

Lexy added the Eric Liddell Memorial Cup to her trophy cabinet in recognition of the best track performance in sprinting over the year; she was just outside a top 10 ranking in Scotland and finished fifth at the Scottish Schools Championship.

Alex Brown was awarded the John Brown Cup for the best male sprint performance in recognition of his ranking as sixth in Scotland for 60m indoors and also in competing in the final of the Scottish U13 Championship.

For the best middle distance performances, after finishing 12th in the West District Cross-Country Championships which gained her a place in the West District squad for the Inter District XC Championship, Iona Wilson was awarded the female Endurance Trophy; and with great progress throughout the season, including improving his 800m and 1500m PBs several times and also competing in various cross-country events, Matthew Gall received the Prentice Shield.

In the Cross Country Cup, the coaches looked at XC results over the year and based on performance and the number of events entered, the winner was Jenny Scott.

Other, not specifically performance led, awards were also presented, these are more open, and athletes’ commitment to the club, along with assistance and endeavours both on and off the track, are taken in to account by the coaches when selecting winners.

Molly Ferguson received the Most Promising Athlete for her commitment at training and her performances at competitions, and Matthew Wright received the Merit Shield for the best endeavour from a club athlete at training.

Oliver Greetham was recognised for his multiple PBs over the year and received award for the most improved male athlete, while Katie Flett received the most improved female athlete award for PBs in both the 800m and 1500m, strong performances in XC and at the Glasgow 10k.

Club captain Sophie Michie, now a coach assistant, received the Alex Burns Trophy in recognition of all her help to the club and coaches, including organising the charity raffle, while Iona Wilson received the President’s Award for her commitment to athletics.

READ MORE: Young Helensburgh athletes blow away the opposition at final summer event

Despite having a tough year with injury, after the high of being selected for the West District XC squad, Iona has regularly attended training when she could, and she also made up the XC relay squad when she should probably have been spectating and not competing.

The final award was decided by the junior athletes themselves as they vote for the hotly-contested ‘athletes’ athlete of the year award’, Matthew Cameron won the vote for the second year in a row and received the John E. Leece Trophy.

The awards evening also acknowledged commitment to training and attendance at competitions, with points being awarded and the athletes who had showed excellent attendance at training and leagues competitions receiving recognition and a prize.

The athletes and parents also thanked the coaches and helpers and presented gifts to show gratitude for their numerous volunteer hours dedicated to help HAAC athletes achieve and to make the club flourish.

The club also drew its charity fund-raising raffle with proceeds being split between the Jean’s Bothy, Helensburgh & Lomond Carers and the Club, with donations of £130 being made to each charity.

Special thanks to Craigend Nursery; Linda Macdonald Jewellery; Start Fitness; Glasgow Airport; Ardardan Farm Shop and Tearoom; Wilkies; Humbles; Riva Restaurant and Masala Twist.

READ MORE: Check out all the latest sports headlines from around Helensburgh and Lomond here