THE husband and wife pairing of Denise and Stephen Donald secured victory in Helensburgh Golf Club’s first open tournament of the year, the Rosebowl competition.

The mixed pairs competition is played in a stableford greensomes format and saw Denise and Stephen rise to the challenge by posting a winning tally of 39 points.

The couple held off the challenge of another Helensburgh pair, Rona Marshall and Graham Crowhurst, who finished just one point behind.

It’s been a busy spell of late for Denise, who, in her role as this year’s lady captain, hosted a well-supported Lady Captain’s Day the previous week, with Dorothy Mickel, Marion Wharry, Gavin Chessor and Mel Newton picking up the respective ladies and gents prizes on the day.

A full programme of events has taken place throughout the months of April and May, aided by the recent spell of fine weather.

None, though, were able to take full advantage of the benign conditions quite as much as Paul Cavana, who posted the best score of the season to date in the June Breingan Medal competition at the weekend.

His incredible net score of 58, achieved off a handicap of 16, included 11 pars and a birdie.

Not surprisingly it was Paul’s best-ever competitive round, with no score worse than a bogey on any of the remaining holes; equally unsurprisingly, it won him the medal with ease, with a full nine shots separating him from the next best score.

The full list of competition winners at Helensburgh so far this season is as follows.

Rosebowl Open: Denise and Stephen Donald.

Breingan Medal: Robert Prideaux (April), Pete Logan (May) and Paul Cavana (June).

McDonald Medal: John Buchanan (April) and Bill Lawler (May).

Anderson Cup: Ross Donaldson (May).

Ormond Medal: Terry Smith (April) and Gavin Chessor (May).

Seniors Medal: Bill McDonald (April) and Calum Kennedy (May).

Lady Captain’s Day: Dorothy Mickel (ladies 18 holes), Marion Wharry (ladies 9 holes), Gavin Chessor (gents 18 holes) and Mel Newton (gents nine holes).

Masters pairs scramble: Bruce Mill and John Graham.

Tam Griffiths Memorial Trophy: Russell Makeham, Craig McAllister and Colin Cameron.

Ladies AD April medal: June Haggarty.

Ladies May Medal and Colgrain Cup: Babs Robertson.