SUSAN CAMERON, Abby Stirling, Craig Stirling and Stewart Fraser used their local knowledge to great effect to emerge victorious in Helensburgh Golf Club's annual open Texas scramble tournament.

Twenty-six teams took part in the ever-popular format and, as tends to be the case in scrambles, scoring was extremely low.

The winning team used their 17 shots to great effect by scoring four birdies and 12 pars in a round that saw them shoot a net 50 to come out as worthy winners.

Another local team, Iain Carswell, Steven Slee, Colin Downie and Kenny Gash, took second place finishing a single shot behind, with Jonathon Montgomery, Keir Lang, Kyle Kjorstad and Eamonn Moy carding a net 52 to finish third.

The best scratch score on the day was 61, with four teams achieving the same mark, though with a back nine of 29 shots it was the team of Pete Logan, Darren Pearce, Stuart McGill and Michael Theobold that took the bragging rights.

A full competition schedule and amenable weather conditions have provided the perfect platform for Helensburgh members and visitors to show off their golfing prowess in recent weeks, with the Gents' Midway Open, another of the club's marquee events, attracting a field of more than 100 entrants.

Mark Gandy took the honours in the 18-hole stableford event with an impressive tally of 40 points, with birdies at the ninth and 16th holes the highlight of a round which featured an inward nine of 41 shots, six over par, belying his handicap of 24.

Mark's superb back nine saw him pip Terry Smith by a single point, although Terry was able to take some consolation from his level par round of 69, including an eagle three at the par-five 13th, which saw him take the scratch prize.

John Duthie took third place with a very creditable 38 points.

The other gents' competition winners during recent weeks are as follows - congratulations to all.

Breingan Medal (June 1): Bill McDonald (division one) net 67, Paul Cavana (division two) net 58, Troy Bennett (division three) net 67.

McDonald medal (June 8): Pete Logan (division one) 32pts, Andrew Graham (division two) 38pts, Connor Simmons (division three) 38pts.

Ormond Medal (June 12): Alec Dunlop (division one) net 67, Luke Ebdon (division two) net 66, Michael White (division three) net 65.

Anderson Cup (June 22): Craig Bonthrone (division one) net 65, David Reid (division two) net 63, Troy Bennett (division three) net 68.


Nine-hole Monday medal (June 24): 1 Louis Carrier 23pts, 2 Iain MacLeod 21pts, 3 Michael Weir 21pts.

Seniors Medal (June 26): 1 Brian Penman 40pts, 2 Harry Fazal 39pts, 3 Alan Bell 38pts.