Helensburgh Tennis Club’s junior club championships produced some thrilling matches last weekend as Conor Niblock, Tilly Frain-Bell and Archie Frain-Bell lifted trophies.

In group one of the 15 and under age category, both Conor Niblock and Luke Hopkins battled it out for a place in the final, having beaten all the other players in previous rounds.

In a tense match it was Conor’s experience that proved the deciding factor despite Luke’s best efforts.

In the other group, the much-fancied Ciaran Hoskins narrowly lost to Cameron Gow to set up a highly anticipated final.

The match was very close, but once again Conor’s experience made the difference as he made fewer mistakes to take the title.

In the girls' 15 and under event, Tilly Frain-Bell was up against Helen Niblock in the final.

This was another battle as each game went to deuce with Helen having the bulk of the game points.

But the determination and retrieving skills of Tilly saw her claw back each time with some fine winners to claim the trophy.

The boys' 10 and under event saw a number of tough matches for all the players, but it came down to a final between Archie Frain-Bell and Aaran Boxall.

Both players have different styles of play - Archie is a scrapper, getting everything back, whilst Aaran hits the ball with a lot of power.

In the end Aaran couldn’t find enough winners and Archie won the title to make it a double family celebration as joined his sister Tilly among the winners.

In selected other matches Alex Millar managed to win two of his matches and seven-year-old Archie Bell showed why he will be a force to be reckoned with in the future by almost beating the eventual winner in a very close match.

The club’s 17-time ladies' singles winner Katie Hope presented the prizes and said she was very encouraged with the standard of tennis on show.

The winners will be invited to the main club presentation evening on Friday, September 29.

Before that the youngsters have another chance to show off their skills by joining the adults in the 'voters and non-voters' tournament on Saturday, September 16, from 1pm-4pm.