HELENSBURGH Golf Club recently hosted the Ladies Medal, President’s Plate, Dormay Cup and the John Scott Trophy with some impressive performances on the course.

The results for the Ladies Medal, played on September 8 were: Silver: Gemma Canham (10) Nett 76, June Haggarty (16) Nett 78, Margaret Moir (13) Nett 80. Scratch Gemma Canham Gross 86 . Bronze: Margaret Thompson (29) Nett 73 Bobbie Latham (25) Nett 80, Grace Martin (30) Nett 81. Scratch Margaret Thompson Gross 102.

Two annual competitions played at Helensburgh Golf Club over recent weekends were hosted by the ladies. They played with the junior girls on Sunday, August 30 and with the junior boys on Sunday, September 13. Both events are generously sponsored by Ridings Sawmills of Cardross, which is much appreciated by the club and all who took part.

The President’s Plate is played for in a scramble format over 11 holes with each team comprising a junior and two ladies. The winning team was Sarah Kemp (13) with Ludka Aitken (29) and Anne Barty (32) who finished with a net 37.6.

In second place was Sarah’s sister, Zoe (23) playing with June Haggarty (16) and Marion Wharry (34) with a net 39.7, and in third place was Isla Stewart (36) with Liz Cordner (34) and Babs Robertson (12) who finished with 43.8 net.

The format of the Dormay Cup is a Greensome played over 18 holes. The winners with a score of 66, 3 below par, were Shay Donald (9) for the second year running, and Liz Cordner (34). In second place with 68.6 (bih) were Jack Armstrong (6) and Anne Riding (27) beating into third place Ben Armstrong(14) and Claire Harper (13).

With the main season moving towards Autumn, one of the last competitions to be played was the John Scott Trophy, played by 80 gentlemen in Stableford format on Saturday.

The efficiency of the greens team was evident in the fact that, despite all greens having been hollow-cored during the week, the course played to standard scratch of 69 with David Tolhurst (12) and Gordon McGregor(7) carding 41 points and the count-back procedure having to be applied to declare David the Trophy winner. Dereck West (20) was a point behind in third place, ahead of 5 members on 39.