HELENSBURGH Golf Club held its Midway Gents’ Open Stableford on Sunday with 70 entrants

The event, sponsored by Helensburgh’s M&T Building Merchants, saw some persistent afternoon rain making conditions difficult.

Billy Trail (17), of Helensburgh GC scored 38 points to win for the second consecutive year.

David McCallum (18) came a close second with 37 points and sharing third position were Malcolm Hyatt (24), Michael McKechnie (6), Terry Smith (3) and Allister Parlane (1) all scoring 36.

Saturday saw 95 players enter this month’s round of the Anderson Cup and final qualifier for theClub Championship Finals

Results were:

Division 1: Peter Haggarty (1), after count-back, had the leading score of net 64; Graham Crowhurst (11) also net 64; in third position, Ian Irving (9) with net 66.

Division 2: Ian Bennet (14), in first position after count-back with net 64; in second place also with net 64, came Stuart Buchanan (13); Peter Mundie (14), Alistair McKenzie (16) and Scott Gardiner (14) shared third place all with net 66.

Division 3: Michael Stephen (24) first with net 66; George Mundie (22) second with net 67; Mick Bone (22) third with net 71.

On July 7, 35 ladies from Helensburgh GC enjoyed a great annual outing, this year to Drumpellier Golf Club in Coatbridge.

Dorothy Mickel was overall winner with 40 Stableford points and won the Haircraft Salver, Cath Brownlee won the 36 Handicap Trophy.

On July 12 the results of the Ladies July medal were: Silver division: 1st Katy Rogers net 75, 2nd Lynn McCathie net 77 and 3rd Gemma Canham net 80; Bronze: 1st Denise Donald net 72, 2nd Dorothy Mickel net 74 and 3rd Maria Carling net 75.

On July 19 the Stroke, 3rd Eclectic and 3rd Seniors competition was won by Dorothy Mickel with net 71, 2nd Lynn McCathie net 73 and 3rd Grace Martin net 78.

On July 22, 34 West of Scotland contested the Ladies Open Tri-am for teams of three, with the two best net scores counting on each hole. Winners of the Ardardan Trophy and Milne Cup were Helensburgh’s Katy Rogers, Dorothy Mickel and Anita McLaren.